Timing in a Kent Cam

From the humble 1256 to meaty V8`s, swaps, rebuilds, tunning, etc.

Moderator: Moderators

Timing in a Kent Cam

Postby iety2004 » 21 Apr 2005, 20:45

Hi guys, i bought a Kent cam last week off ebay and i was wondering how do u time these up?

Also is it possible to change the cam on my 1196 engine with out removing the engine itself? if not, i'll build up my spare engine as a fast road lump

cheers
I ain't getting in no plane!
iety2004
Classic Old Timer
Classic Old Timer
 
Posts: 622
Joined: 23 Nov 2004, 16:04
Location: Home Cardiff / Uni Swansea

Postby Doive » 22 Apr 2005, 00:02

No idea on timing them up mate but as far as I know swapping cams is indeed an engine out job.
<img src="http://sfx-images.mozilla.org/affiliates/Buttons/firefox2/firefox-spread-btn-1b.png">

Med Venlig Hilsen

www.doive.co.uk
User avatar
Doive
Pyrotechnic Nutter Admin
Pyrotechnic Nutter Admin
 
Posts: 4357
Joined: 22 Nov 2004, 18:43
Location: Clinging to a Turbine, Hexham

Postby iety2004 » 22 Apr 2005, 00:06

Well ve been offered a complete engine for free, so i'll just fit it to that and get it running while it out of the car, then can just swap engines without having the car off the road for long :D

Good thinking i'd say, try and get my weber 40 set up on it aswell when its off
I ain't getting in no plane!
iety2004
Classic Old Timer
Classic Old Timer
 
Posts: 622
Joined: 23 Nov 2004, 16:04
Location: Home Cardiff / Uni Swansea

Postby Doive » 22 Apr 2005, 00:14

Why don't you try and go for a twin cam setup? You have two cams, it is theoretically possible?
<img src="http://sfx-images.mozilla.org/affiliates/Buttons/firefox2/firefox-spread-btn-1b.png">

Med Venlig Hilsen

www.doive.co.uk
User avatar
Doive
Pyrotechnic Nutter Admin
Pyrotechnic Nutter Admin
 
Posts: 4357
Joined: 22 Nov 2004, 18:43
Location: Clinging to a Turbine, Hexham

Postby Neilyman » 22 Apr 2005, 00:18

Kadett : 1196 16V

<img src="http://www.todojuegos.com/modules/Forums/images/smiles/gathering.gif" />


<img src="http://img116.exs.cx/img116/1231/z7shysterical.gif" />
Last edited by Neilyman on 22 Apr 2005, 00:22, edited 2 times in total.
Image
User avatar
Neilyman
Admin and dirty rotten egg!
Admin and dirty rotten egg!
 
Posts: 2834
Joined: 21 Nov 2004, 17:20
Location: West Yorkshire, UK

Postby Doive » 22 Apr 2005, 00:20

Well think about it, how hard would it be?? A pair of vernier wheels and off you go.
<img src="http://sfx-images.mozilla.org/affiliates/Buttons/firefox2/firefox-spread-btn-1b.png">

Med Venlig Hilsen

www.doive.co.uk
User avatar
Doive
Pyrotechnic Nutter Admin
Pyrotechnic Nutter Admin
 
Posts: 4357
Joined: 22 Nov 2004, 18:43
Location: Clinging to a Turbine, Hexham

Postby iety2004 » 22 Apr 2005, 00:37

and another 8 valvesImage
I ain't getting in no plane!
iety2004
Classic Old Timer
Classic Old Timer
 
Posts: 622
Joined: 23 Nov 2004, 16:04
Location: Home Cardiff / Uni Swansea

Postby iety2004 » 22 Apr 2005, 00:38

could join the to engines together to make a 2.2 V8 :?
I ain't getting in no plane!
iety2004
Classic Old Timer
Classic Old Timer
 
Posts: 622
Joined: 23 Nov 2004, 16:04
Location: Home Cardiff / Uni Swansea

Postby Doive » 22 Apr 2005, 01:33

Well if you could find someone out there to machine you up a custom crank anything is possible! Quite a few V8's use the same journal for a pair of pistons, so in fact the crank could remain as is, but you would need new con rods made to join the pistons on.
<img src="http://sfx-images.mozilla.org/affiliates/Buttons/firefox2/firefox-spread-btn-1b.png">

Med Venlig Hilsen

www.doive.co.uk
User avatar
Doive
Pyrotechnic Nutter Admin
Pyrotechnic Nutter Admin
 
Posts: 4357
Joined: 22 Nov 2004, 18:43
Location: Clinging to a Turbine, Hexham

Postby iety2004 » 22 Apr 2005, 11:17

I don't know starting to sound expensive, i think i could just stick a vaux v6 out of a vetra or sumin, be a cheaper option.

So back to the subject, i was thinking,

Have to remove the engine and turn it upside down to be able to take the cam out with out the followers falling in to the sump, i could make up a rig of 8 teloscopic magnics going through a pice of carboard, that could hold them in place will i remove and replce the cam? no?

still no ideas on how to time them up tho,

cheers
I ain't getting in no plane!
iety2004
Classic Old Timer
Classic Old Timer
 
Posts: 622
Joined: 23 Nov 2004, 16:04
Location: Home Cardiff / Uni Swansea

Postby shuvit-tim » 22 Apr 2005, 11:41

i think steve posted Doive some of his magical jersey liquor! :lol:
when all else fails, rivets, cable ties and bodge tape will see you through

Tim
User avatar
shuvit-tim
Tight arsed, ex-Stoodant Chevetter
Tight arsed, ex-Stoodant Chevetter
 
Posts: 2466
Joined: 22 Nov 2004, 23:31
Location: worcester / warrington, UK

Postby Shellysowner » 22 Apr 2005, 12:00

Manufacturers have done that sort of thing in the past though haven't they (apart from the cams)? Wasn't the V8 in the Triumph Stag basically two dolomite four pots stitched together?
User avatar
Shellysowner
Neverending moaner - lack of space!
Neverending moaner - lack of space!
 
Posts: 4384
Joined: 08 Jan 2005, 01:50
Location: Cambridge

Postby iety2004 » 22 Apr 2005, 12:04

Yes it was, thats how they do them, like the TVR speed 12, 2 TVR V6 mated together.

but they can aford to do them cos they are making more than one, and will be able to cover there cost in the long run,

don't think i could afford to do it :(
I ain't getting in no plane!
iety2004
Classic Old Timer
Classic Old Timer
 
Posts: 622
Joined: 23 Nov 2004, 16:04
Location: Home Cardiff / Uni Swansea

Postby Doive » 22 Apr 2005, 15:40

Yes but Triumph stitched together two four pots quite badly, or at least got the cooling system quite wrong. The four pot base was essentially the same as that used in the Dolly Sprint, so assuming the same stud spacing you could fit a pair of 16v heads to the V8. Come to think of it the basic engine is similar to that used on the Saab 99 and 900 turbo - imagine a twin turbo 32v V8 Stag!

The biggest bit of engineering two four pots into a V8 would be the design of a new block. Somebody must be up to the challenge - if I had a machine shop I'd have a bash.
<img src="http://sfx-images.mozilla.org/affiliates/Buttons/firefox2/firefox-spread-btn-1b.png">

Med Venlig Hilsen

www.doive.co.uk
User avatar
Doive
Pyrotechnic Nutter Admin
Pyrotechnic Nutter Admin
 
Posts: 4357
Joined: 22 Nov 2004, 18:43
Location: Clinging to a Turbine, Hexham

Postby Shellysowner » 23 Apr 2005, 04:22

But how on earth would you hollow out oil galleries etc.?
User avatar
Shellysowner
Neverending moaner - lack of space!
Neverending moaner - lack of space!
 
Posts: 4384
Joined: 08 Jan 2005, 01:50
Location: Cambridge

Postby hsr2.6 » 23 Apr 2005, 09:49

on the strong coffe again ralph

Posted: Sat Apr 23, 2005 3:22 am Post subject:
:lol: :lol: :lol:
rally drivers do it sideways.............well the quick ones do....................
User avatar
hsr2.6
Diehard Chevetter
Diehard Chevetter
 
Posts: 1231
Joined: 22 Nov 2004, 11:07
Location: jersey channel islands, but still a true welshman

Postby Neilyman » 23 Apr 2005, 09:56

Shellysowner wrote:But how on earth would you hollow out oil galleries etc.?


:?: With a good electric drill & a set of titanium coated bits, what else you gonna use?, your finger?! :roll:
Image
User avatar
Neilyman
Admin and dirty rotten egg!
Admin and dirty rotten egg!
 
Posts: 2834
Joined: 21 Nov 2004, 17:20
Location: West Yorkshire, UK

Postby hsr2.6 » 23 Apr 2005, 09:57

maybe he's like mr gadget
rally drivers do it sideways.............well the quick ones do....................
User avatar
hsr2.6
Diehard Chevetter
Diehard Chevetter
 
Posts: 1231
Joined: 22 Nov 2004, 11:07
Location: jersey channel islands, but still a true welshman

Postby Shellysowner » 23 Apr 2005, 14:33

No, I just couldn't sleep for a bit. I still think machining a block in a shop would be rediulously hard!
User avatar
Shellysowner
Neverending moaner - lack of space!
Neverending moaner - lack of space!
 
Posts: 4384
Joined: 08 Jan 2005, 01:50
Location: Cambridge

Postby Doive » 25 Apr 2005, 00:17

Well they must make block castings somehow! That was the biggest problem with the Stag blocks, they forgot to clean all the casting sand out of the waterways and fitted the engines up as was. Everything has a solution, it just depends how much time and money you are willing to fling at it.
<img src="http://sfx-images.mozilla.org/affiliates/Buttons/firefox2/firefox-spread-btn-1b.png">

Med Venlig Hilsen

www.doive.co.uk
User avatar
Doive
Pyrotechnic Nutter Admin
Pyrotechnic Nutter Admin
 
Posts: 4357
Joined: 22 Nov 2004, 18:43
Location: Clinging to a Turbine, Hexham

Postby Herbie_Flowers » 25 Apr 2005, 00:39

has anybody got a haynes manual of the kadett so that we can see some pictures of the engine?? ultimately there has to be some timing marks there.
User avatar
Herbie_Flowers
Diehard Chevetter
Diehard Chevetter
 
Posts: 1638
Joined: 30 Mar 2005, 06:55
Location: Telford

Postby iety2004 » 25 Apr 2005, 01:31

Yeah i have, the crank pulley and the cam pulley both have timing spots on them and you are supose to align these up, this will be at 10 degress top dead centre for a standard cam,

but i think i remember soming like true top dead centre and you got to use a dial gauge or sumin, that why i thought i'd ask to see if any of you guys had fitted one before.

The engine is the same as the Chevette 1256 engine basically, same layout.

not sure if i can scan a picture in due to copyright :?
I ain't getting in no plane!
iety2004
Classic Old Timer
Classic Old Timer
 
Posts: 622
Joined: 23 Nov 2004, 16:04
Location: Home Cardiff / Uni Swansea

Postby Neilyman » 25 Apr 2005, 02:03

iety2004 wrote:but i think i remember soming like true top dead centre and you got to use a dial gauge or sumin,


Take No 1 sparkplug out & drop a long screwdriver down onto the piston, turn engine by hand `till the screwdriver is at the top of the piston stroke, `on the rock` Thats true TDC.
Image
User avatar
Neilyman
Admin and dirty rotten egg!
Admin and dirty rotten egg!
 
Posts: 2834
Joined: 21 Nov 2004, 17:20
Location: West Yorkshire, UK

Postby iety2004 » 25 Apr 2005, 02:10

Yeah thats what i remember reading somewhere, but im not too sure, can u get timing discs of kent?
I ain't getting in no plane!
iety2004
Classic Old Timer
Classic Old Timer
 
Posts: 622
Joined: 23 Nov 2004, 16:04
Location: Home Cardiff / Uni Swansea

Postby Shellysowner » 25 Apr 2005, 02:14

iety2004 wrote:Yeah thats what i remember reading somewhere, but im not too sure...


Why? As neily says that is TDC.
User avatar
Shellysowner
Neverending moaner - lack of space!
Neverending moaner - lack of space!
 
Posts: 4384
Joined: 08 Jan 2005, 01:50
Location: Cambridge

Next

Return to Engine & Gearbox

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest

cron