ECOTEC

From the humble 1256 to meaty V8`s, swaps, rebuilds, tunning, etc.

Moderator: Moderators

ECOTEC

Postby xhsowner » 18 Mar 2005, 10:52

Hi guys stopped at local scrappy this morning he has 2 m reg cav sri ,s with 2.0 ecotec,s in are these any good for the chevette or are these the wrong ones to use one has 130000miles £200 and a 99000miles £300.also if either of these are ok what do i need with it ie starter, alternator etc.
cheers guys ANDY :roll: :roll:
xhsowner
Novice Driver
Novice Driver
 
Posts: 66
Joined: 17 Mar 2005, 15:05
Location: stroud

Postby Shoveitpusher » 18 Mar 2005, 13:21

basically it's a poor mans xe. it should make reasonable power, should fit the same as an xe or sohc. you'll need the ancillaries, i'd say a good engine to use.

i seem to recall a ccc article about using these engines instead of the xe and they were quite impressed. it may even be a bit lighter than the xe
Peter C
Shoveitpusher
Classic Old Timer
Classic Old Timer
 
Posts: 812
Joined: 22 Nov 2004, 19:16
Location: Norfolk

Postby Doive » 18 Mar 2005, 13:35

It's a common misconception that these engines are in some way inferior to the XE. With careful modifications it is possible to build a 200bhp engine with no problems. Typically an XE will top out at about 180 brake before things get really expensive. Retro Cars wrote a feature on these engines a couple of issues back, I'll dig it out if you like.
A125 EMY - 1983 Chevette L in Mocha Brown

Med Venlig Hilsen

http://www.doive.co.uk
User avatar
Doive
Pyrotechnic Nutter Admin
Pyrotechnic Nutter Admin
 
Posts: 4360
Joined: 22 Nov 2004, 18:43
Location: Glenrothes, Fife

Postby shuvit-tim » 18 Mar 2005, 13:41

if you can convince them get them to throw in th eloom as well. you probably wont need much of it, but it's worth having just in case. alternator connections and so on may have different 'ends' which you could just pinch off the cavs loom if you have it.

Are you going to rnu on injection or carbs? If the engine is injection and you plan on keepnig it that way you'll need the ECU and related part of the loom
when all else fails, rivets, cable ties and bodge tape will see you through

Tim
User avatar
shuvit-tim
Tight arsed, ex-Stoodant Chevetter
Tight arsed, ex-Stoodant Chevetter
 
Posts: 2466
Joined: 22 Nov 2004, 23:31
Location: worcester / warrington, UK

ECOTEC

Postby Guest » 18 Mar 2005, 17:43

Hi Guys thanks for the help,SHUVIT-TIM with any luck hope to use 45 webbers,DOIVE if you could look that info out would be great.
Dont suppose you guys no where i can get tyres for 8x13 minilights,a wheel specialist can only find 205/60/13 i think he said id need 225/60 /13 no won seems to be able to get hold of them any longer what do you lot reckon
cheers ANDY
Guest
 

Postby Doive » 18 Mar 2005, 19:53

From what I have been reading the ECOTEC will respond much better to modifications with a set of throttle bodies. Regulated fuel supply, easier to map and more reliable than a set of carbs. Plus not much more expensive if bought brand new. I'll have a dig around my pile of magazines for you.
A125 EMY - 1983 Chevette L in Mocha Brown

Med Venlig Hilsen

http://www.doive.co.uk
User avatar
Doive
Pyrotechnic Nutter Admin
Pyrotechnic Nutter Admin
 
Posts: 4360
Joined: 22 Nov 2004, 18:43
Location: Glenrothes, Fife

Postby shuvit-tim » 18 Mar 2005, 23:36

throttleboddies will take far more work to do the conversion though surely than simlpy bolting on a manifold with 45s on and getting them tuned

Neily Edit.........I don`t mind you nicking my phrases Tim, just make the cheque payable to Neilyman & send it to........................I`ve even edited it for you! :P

*tim edit* sorry neily, couldnt resist! brought back so many happy memories of when the chevette was actually on the road
Last edited by shuvit-tim on 19 Mar 2005, 21:02, edited 1 time in total.
when all else fails, rivets, cable ties and bodge tape will see you through

Tim
User avatar
shuvit-tim
Tight arsed, ex-Stoodant Chevetter
Tight arsed, ex-Stoodant Chevetter
 
Posts: 2466
Joined: 22 Nov 2004, 23:31
Location: worcester / warrington, UK

Postby Doive » 19 Mar 2005, 20:16

A throttle body setup will require an ECU mapped for the application, but then the ECOTEC was designed to be run with an ECU anyway. A set of carbs may be appealing old school mods, but from what I've heard almost every engine modifier will now take a set of throttle bodies first as they are so much easier to set up and have running effectively. Carbs need rejetting and balancing, and even then it can be difficult to eliminate flat spots. With an ECU setup you just tell the injectors to inject more or less petrol according to what the engine is doing. I know what I'd do given the choice.
A125 EMY - 1983 Chevette L in Mocha Brown

Med Venlig Hilsen

http://www.doive.co.uk
User avatar
Doive
Pyrotechnic Nutter Admin
Pyrotechnic Nutter Admin
 
Posts: 4360
Joined: 22 Nov 2004, 18:43
Location: Glenrothes, Fife

Re: ECOTEC

Postby Shoveitpusher » 19 Mar 2005, 20:54

Anonymous wrote:Hi Guys thanks for the help,SHUVIT-TIM with any luck hope to use 45 webbers,DOIVE if you could look that info out would be great.
Dont suppose you guys no where i can get tyres for 8x13 minilights,a wheel specialist can only find 205/60/13 i think he said id need 225/60 /13 no won seems to be able to get hold of them any longer what do you lot reckon
cheers ANDY


Khumo do their sticky treaded tarmac tyre, v7000 i think, in 215/55x13, i think they do a bigger one as well. i'd stick with 205's for normal road use.
Peter C
Shoveitpusher
Classic Old Timer
Classic Old Timer
 
Posts: 812
Joined: 22 Nov 2004, 19:16
Location: Norfolk


Return to Engine & Gearbox

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest